Skip to content

Universidad de los Andes

Universidad de los Andes is a private university located in Santiago, Chile, founded in 1989.

Universidad de los Andes is currently accredited by the National Accreditation Commission (CAN – Chile) for a period of 5 years (from a maximum of 7), from 2017 to 2022. It was ranked 19th within Chilean universities by the CSIC webometric classification of July 2017 (Edition 2017.2.1) and 9th by AméricaEconomía 2017. Universidad de los Andes is also one of the 25 Chilean universities that appear in the Scimago Institution Rakings (SIR) 2017, positioned 8th nationally and 614 worldwide.

The University has a teaching hospital, business school (ESE Business School) and two main research centers: Centro de Investigación Biomédica (CIB) and Centro de Investigación en Ingeniería y Ciencias Aplicadas. Universidad de los Andes offers 30 undergraduate programs, 11 baccalaureate programs, 6 PhD programs and 23 masters programs. In health, it offers 23 medical specialty programs, 9 dental specialties and 11 graduate programs. The University focuses on teaching, research and continuous education.

In 2010, the University created the Innovation Department, and the Technology Transfer Office (TTO) two years later. This has led to the development of innovation in the research lines shown in the diagram below. In 2016, the UANDES TTO was recognized by Corfo as the best TTO in Chile.